Pueblo Government

As a sovereign nation, Cochiti has a traditional form of government, which has been in existence for centuries. At the end of each year, under the leadership of the Cacique, the chief spiritual leader, appoints the top six positions of the tribal government to a one-year term. They include the War Chief, Lieutenant War Chief, Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Major Fiscale and Lieutenant Fiscale. Minor officials are also appointed to include six from each moiety to aid these top positions. Each moiety is represented annually and alternate year-to-year serving as the principal officials of the Tribal Government. Minor officials to aid the War Captains are appointed by moiety council to include three from each moiety. Three minor officials from each moiety to aid the Governors and Fiscale are also selected by outgoing minor officials. These officials are appointed at end of the calendar year and assume office during the first week in January. At Cochiti the moieties are the Pumpkin and Turquoise.

Although the War Chief and Lieutenant War Chief are the top officials, they are mainly responsible for over-seeing and preserving the cultural and ceremonial calendar. The Governor and Lieutenant Governor along with the Fiscales are responsible for carrying out day-to-day governmental affairs, which include economic, political, administrative and law enforcement.

While the Governor has authority to guide the day-to-day operations of the Pueblo, the Pueblo Council is responsible for policy development and making all decisions by consensus at monthly council meetings, affecting the Pueblo as a whole. The Pueblo Council consists of approximately 40 male members who have served in one or more of the top positions of Tribal Government and by tradition are council members for life.

About Cochiti Pueblo

Located 22 miles (35 km) southwest of Santa Fe, the community is a historic pueblo, which is listed as a historic district on the National Register of Historic Places. The Cochiti pueblo people are a federally recognized tribe of Native Americans. The pueblo administers 53,779 acres (217.64 km2) of reservation land and possesses concurrent jurisdiction over the Kasha-Katuwe Tent Rocks National Monument.

S5 Box